Salvete!

I’ve decided to keep a blog about my experience at library school. This is my first year in the Masters of Library and Information Studies program and I have chosen to specialize in Archival Studies.

The Tabularium was a building in the Roman forum housing the Roman Public Record Office. This was where the state archives were held, including deeds, laws, treaties, and Senate decrees. It was built in 78 BC (http://en.museicapitolini.org/percorsi/percorsipersale/tabularium). I thought it would make a neat name for my blog (if you know me, you know I like Latin and history and all things old).

I am taking four courses: Information System Design (right now we are learning to build a database); Information and Society (“an introduction to the world of information, documents and information agencies from a historical and social perspective”); Archival Principles and Practice (pretty much what it sounds like); and Knowledge Management Foundations (extra credit will given for those who look up one of the many KM definitions).

I joined the our student chapter of the Association of Canadian Archivists and am one of the two first-year student representatives.

That’s it for now!

Leave a comment