“Turn me over, I’m done on this side!”

A couple weeks ago the archives start-up I am involved with had what we called a “friendraiser”. It was basically a cocktail in order to network, get the word out about ourselves, and ask other archivists for feedback. We also gave a presentation. The event didn’t go entirely as planned (but what does?), so we decided we needed a patron saint for our company. I suggested Saint Lawrence. He is one of three patrons of archivists that I know of, plus it makes sense geographically. Everyone liked that so we adopted him as our patron.

St. Lawrence was a 3rd-century Roman martyr who was roasted on a gridiron and is supposed to have said, “Turn me over, I’m done on this side!” So I got to thinking, gee, wouldn’t it be funny if, for our logo, we had a drawing of a small scanner with the top up, showing a document on the glass, obviously in the process of being digitised, and obviously two-sided, since there would be a speech bubble and it would be saying, “Turn me over, I’m done on this side!”

Leave a Reply

