Follow That Tattooed Librarian

One day this past spring my sister and I were listening to an interview on the radio. The woman being interviewed was Marilyn Johnson, who wrote This Book is Overdue! How Librarians and Cybrarians Can Save Us All (HarperCollins Publishers, 2010). Before I left for library school my sister gave me a copy. It’s so funny! I love the author’s writing style, very smooth, light, and funny. Especially Chapter 5, “Follow That Tattooed Librarian,” an excerpt of which is given below:

By and large, [librarians] are cat people, not dog people. Librarians’ favorite wall decorations are posters of the goofy “LOLcats,” adorable cat pictures with misspelled legends: I Can Has Cheezburger? or drunk dial kitteh callin u at 2 am. Is it the misspellings that crack them up?

As a breed, librarians tend to share a sense of humor that is quirky, sardonic, and full of wordplay […]

 

Leave a Reply

